By Ankur Tiwari on 18-05-2020Follow @Ankurt04
Information without context can be lethal.
Knowledge derived from such information fails when put to action.
Ironically, it is all around you.
If you are not attentive, you can incur irreversible losses.
This post is a part of the Organic SaaS Growth newsletter. Subscribe here.
Consider, for example, the curious case of the customer lifetime value (LTV).
If you have ever designed a growth model, you must have come across LTV.
Customer lifetime value is the sum of gross margins from all payments you expect to receive from a paying user.
One of the ways SaaS world talks about LTV is with customer acquisition cost (CAC).
CAC is the total money you spend to acquire a paying customer.
LTV and CAC, together form the basis of a viable growth model:
Thus low CAC — high LTV is a winning combination.
So far, so good.
But things are going to get tricky very soon.
You will find blog posts from reputed publishers, like this one from Hubspot, suggesting LTV/CAC as a critical metric for SaaS businesses.
Specifically, the post says that you can maintain an LTV/CAC ratio greater than three, and if it is too high, you should increase your sales & marketing spend.
In other words, the post suggests that you can spend up to one-third of LTV to acquire a new customer.
However, it is not entirely correct.
The context is missing here.
The suggestion of LTV/CAC to be three or higher is not valid for early-stage SaaS businesses.
An early-stage business using LTV/CAC as a metric is vulnerable to financial risks.
I am going to explain this with an example.
Consider a SaaS startup X that sells its most popular plan for $299 a month.
The company expects each of its customers to stay with it for three years.
A simple calculation will give LTV as $10764 ($299 x 12 x 3)
Even though it is a rough estimate of LTV, it will be sufficient for today's analysis. A more accurate method to calculate LTV is available here.
At LTV/CAC = 3, CAC will be $3588 (10764/3)
This means the company X can spend up to $3588 to acquire a new customer for a $299 monthly plan.
Assuming a uniform CAC for the sake of the calculation, to acquire 500 customers, the upfront cost will be $1.79 million (500x3588).
There are three critical inferences here:
None of these are conducive to the growth of an early-stage SaaS business.
A better approach would be to:
That’s all I wanted to discuss today on LTV/CAC ratio. I welcome your suggestions, questions and feedback.
Thank you for reading the #15 issue of the Organic SaaS Growth newsletter. If you have not yet subscribed to the newsletter, please click here to subscribe.
I'm a SaaS growth consultant. I help SaaS businesses grow using organic growth strategies.
If you want to see how I can help you grow your SaaS business, schedule a free strategy call with me.
Connect with me on social.
Enter your email for high quality, actionable growth strategies delivered right at your inbox.